Meditation on Psalm 17 after Hip Surgery


LORD,

You heard my cry.
You listened to my prayers
When I limped down the street,
When my bones ground together,
When patience was wearing away.

You came in the darkness of dreams
Laying on kind hands of love.
You sent your servants
    To cheer and comfort,
    To humbly wash my feet,
    To gently preserve my dignity.

I have known loving kindness and faithfulness,
Many cups of cold water in your name.
My mouth was dry with thirst,
Longing to drink at the fountain of life.

I am learning new disciplines
So that I wonder at your wisdom.

Give thanks to The Lord, for He is good.
Oh that people would praise His name!

Leave a Reply

